Tags

, , , , , , ,

Sentimental as the unemployment line
In black & white like grapes of wrath.
Poetry thus blank with verse for rhyme.

Oh so sad to hear no party drink or wine
Surely sadness suicide said Sylvia Plath
Sentimental as the unemployment line.

Poets of the herd squeal ten songs divine,
For bards to rhyme to chime to kill Macbeth.
Poetry thus blank with verse for rhyme.

Feet & syllables they count & recombine
Reciting on a stage, a pulpit or a bath
Sentimental as the unemployment line.

As sad as autumn nights along the Rhine
Or ‘letters to some friends’ by Tom McGrath.
Poetry thus blank with verse for rhyme.

And you, my child, so free to think enshrine
& feel again true poesy—count not McMath!
Sentimental as the unemployment line.
Poetry thus blank with verse for rhyme.

26/10/12

So I jumped head-first, first time into the ice-cold waters of the villanelle. Samuel Peralta over at dVerse convinced me with his engaging explanation of the villanelle form (along with interesting anecdotes about physics and Dylan Thomas).

No, no, I shall not convert to any such formal forms and formalities, but this was surely a fun exercise. And I admit my admiration with what some poets can do with the form. Should go over at dVerse and see what I mean.

